Gevorg Matinyan


Gevorg Matinyan, born in 2002 in Yerevan, is an Armenian pianist. At the age of seven he started playing piano at the music school named after “Sayat-Nova”. He developed his musical skills at the Tschaikowski secondary specialized music school in Yerevan with Professor, honored artist of Republic of Armenia, Villi Sargsyan and prof. Areg Sargsyan. From 2012 he gave more than ten solo concerts in Armenia, Germany and the USA and took part in the “New Names” International Festival of Young Musician-Performers (Yerevan, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017). He has also performed with the Gyumri State Symphonic Orchestra, the Armenian State Chamber Orchestra in Armenia and the Kuban Symphony Orchestra in Krasnodar, Russia. At the age of ten, he was prizewinner and was awarded with “Junior Prize” at the 13th Munich piano podium of the youth international competition. In 2013 and 2017 he won the 2 nd prizes at the A. Babajanyan International Competition-Festival for Young Pianists in Yerevan, Armenia. He was finalist and winner of the special prize “Promising young performer” at the XII International F. Chopin Piano Competition in 2018 in Narva, Estonia. The Sixth International Junior Performance Competition “Where art is born” followed in 2019 in Krasnodar, Russia, was a great success for him, he won the first Prize and Grand Prix. At the age of 16 he passed the entrance exam at the University of Music and Theater in Hamburg with the highest grade and is currently studying Bachelor of Music with major in piano, with Professor Hubert Rutkowski.

First round

A. Scriabin: Sonata Fantasie g sharp minor No. 2 op. 19

F. Chopin: ‘Valse brillante’ A flat major op. 34 No. 1

A. Babajanyan: Vagharshapat Dance

A. Harutyunyan: Dance of Sasun C major

Final round

L. van Beethoven: Sonata A flat major No. 12 op. 26
I. Andante con Variazioni
II. Scherzo. Allegro molto
III. Marcia funebre sulla morte d’un Eroe. Maestoso andante
IV. Allegro

F. Mendelssohn: Variations Serieuses d minor op. 54

F. Chopin: Andante spianato et Grande polonaise brillante op. 22