Ivan Galic


Ivan Galić (1994) comes from Gorica (Bosnia and Herzegowina). He got his high school degree in music school „Dr. fra Ivan Glibotić“ in Imotski (piano and theory department) in class of prof. Jadranka Garin and studied on Music Academy in Zagreb in class of prof. Ljubomir Gašparović. During studies he receives scholarship of Erasmus+Program (exchanging program) and takes 2 years of studies on Hochschule für Musik „Franz Liszt“ in Weimar, in the class of prof. Grigory Gruzman. After receiving his Master Degree in Zagreb, he continues his Postgraduate studies in Zagreb in class of prof. Ruben Dalibaltayan. He also received his Master Degree on Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar in class of prof. Christian Wilm Müller. Currently he is studying Konzertexamenstudium (Postgraduate studies) in Weimar in class of prof. Balazs Szokolay and Postmaster studies in Talent Music Master Course in Brescia in class of prof. Ruben Dalibaltayan.

He achieved large succes on international competition „Chopin golden ring“ (Ljubljana, 2009) by winning 1st prize, and special prize for best performance of composition of slovenian author. In 2011, he won 1st prize on international competition „Daleki akordi“ (Split, Croatia). In February 2014, he won 2nd prize and a special prize for the best performance of classical sonata at international competition “Young Virtuoso” held in Zagreb. In April 2018, together with violinist Katarina Kutnar, he wins I. prize and special prize for best piano accompaniment on „Darko Lukić“ competition, which was held in Zagreb. In February 2019 he won 1st prize and Grand Prix Prize at Mozart International Competition in Berlin. Few months later he won 1st prize at international piano competition “Citta di San Dona di Piave” in Italy.

He attended master-classes of well known piano teachers as Ruben Dalibaltayan, Grigory Gruzman, Peter Eicher, Natalia Troull, Naum Grubert, Bernd Götzke, Roland Krüger, Pascal Devoyon, Aquilles delle Vigne etc.

First round

J. S. Bach: Prelude and Fugue a minor from Das Wohltemperierte Klavier Book 1

F. Schubert: Drei Klavierstücke D. 946 No. 1
- Allegro assai
- Andante
- Allegro assai

J. Brahms: Fantasien op. 116
No. 5 Intermezzo e minor
No. 6 Intermezzo E major
No. 7 Capriccio d minor

Final round

W. A. Mozart: Sonata B flat major KV 570
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegretto

F. Chopin: Sonata No. 2 b flat minor op. 35
I. Grave – Doppio movimento
II. Scherzo
III. Marche funèbre: Lento
IV. Finale: Presto

A. Scriabin: Sonata No. 9 op. 68 ‘Black Mass’
Moderato quasi andante – Molto meno vivo – Allegro molto – Alla marcia – Allegro – Presto – Tempo primo