Johannes Daniel Schneider


Johannes Daniel Schneider, born in 1999, started playing the piano at the age of four. In 2014 he started studying in “Musikgymnasium Schloss Belvedere Weimar”, majoring piano, with prof. Christian Wilm Müller. There he also learnt conducting with Joan Pagés-Valls. Since 2018 he has continued to study with prof. Müller at the “Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar”.

He has attended master classes with famous pianists such as Marisa Somma, Sontraud Speidel, Wolfgang Manz, Aquiles delle Vigne, Henri Sigfridsson, Bernd Goetzke, Markus Groh, Imre Rohmann and George Alexander Albrecht.

He is passionate in chamber music and plays regularly as a duo with solo instruments or trio. His performances took place in many prestigious venues mainly in Germany such as the Brahms-Saal Meiningen, Saal of the Musikgymnasium Schloss Belvedere Weimar, Velte-Saal Schloss Gottesaue, Barocksaal Schloss Tegernsee, Mendelssohn-Haus Leipzig, Johann-Sebastian-Bach-Saal Köthen, and foyer of the Berlin Philharmonie Berlin, but also in Italy, Austria and the USA.

In addition, he is a prize winner of more than 40 national and international competitions, mostly first prizes, including the “14th Munich Piano Podium of Youth 2014”, the “9th National Bach Competition Köthen for Young Pianists 2015,” and “Jugend musiziert Kammermusik 2016” as well as “Jugend musiziert Klavier solo 2017.”

He currently receives a scholarship from the “Juetting Foundation” and since 2018 from the “Yehudi-Menuhin-Foundation Live Music Now”. He is also a member of TONALi19.

First round

F. Schubert: Sonata c minor D. 958
I. Allegro

K. Szymanowski: Preludes op. 1
No. 4 Andantino con moto
No. 5 Allegro molto – impetuoso

F. Chopin: Polonaise A flat major op. 53 ‘Heroic’

Final round

Th. Leschetitzky: Deux Arabesques op. 45
No. 1 En forme d’Etude
No. 2 A la Tarantelle

F. Chopin: Etudes op. 10
No. 10 A flat major
No. 11 E flat major ‘Arpeggio’

K. Szymanowski: Preludes op. 1
No. 1 Andante ma non troppo
No. 2 Andante con moto
No. 3 Andantino

F. Schubert: Sonata c minor D. 958
II. Adagio
III. Menuetto. Allegro - Trio
IV. Allegro