Zhuotao Huang


Zhuotao Huang, born in 1997 in Guangzhou (China), started playing the piano at the age of six. In 2009 and 2010 she received 3rd prizes at the International Grotrian Steinweg Piano Competition in Braunschweig. In 2010 she was accepted as a young student with prof. Barbara Szczepanska at the Robert Schumann University in Düsseldorf and since 2016 she has been studying as a full student in the bachelor’s program.

In 2012 she was awarded 2nd prize in the categories for piano duo and piano with stringed instruments at the national competition “Jugend musiziert”. At the Düsseldorf competition “Meisterklasse! Soloists concert with the Düsseldorf Symphony Orchestra”, she received the second prize with the Mozart Piano Concerto KV 414. In 2014 she won a second prize in the solo category and the special prize for the best interpretation of a work from the 20th / 21st Century at the national competition “Jugend musiziert”. In 2015 she won a second prize at the Hans von Bülow International Piano Competition in Meiningen. Master classes and in Warsaw or at the “International Music Summer Campus Cleve” complement her study. In 2017 and 2018 she was sponsored by “Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now” and the German Academic Exchange Service with scholarships and in 2019 she received the Deutschlandstipendium.

First round

W. A. Mozart: Sonata G major No. 5 KV 283
I. Allegro
II. Andante in C major
III. Presto

K. Meyer: Bagatelle for piano

F. Chopin: Sonata b flat minor No. 3 op. 58
IV. Finale: Presto non tanto

Final round

F. Liszt: Troisième année S.163
No. 4 Les jeux d’eaux à la Villa d’Este

C. Debussy: Suite Bergamasque
I. Prélude
II. Menuet
III. Clair de lune
IV. Passepied

F. Chopin: Fantasie f minor op. 49